Road Trip Saturdays!

I love a good adventure. Who doesn’t? My most favorite form of adventure involves the road trip. There is something magical about hopping in the car with your best friend and driving for hours sharing laughs and good music to find yourself in a different place seeking adventure. Every Saturday I will be posting ideas for amazing road trips.

Photo Courtesy of We Heart It

If you know much about me, you know that I love Arizona. I grew up there, I want to move back.. so I found it fitting to use it in a first post. However, this place I am posting I have never been to. Actually I passed it once in my Grandparents RV one summer when I was about 8 and I have always wanted to stay for a visit. If you’ve seen the movie Zombie-land, you may recognize this place as well.

May I introduce The Wigwam Motel.

Wigwam Motel

Wigwam Motel


What makes this place special?
This place is awesome, giant Wigwams, Classic Cars, and the desert. Do you need anything more?

Wigwam Motel


Info
The Wigwam Motel is located in Holbrook, Arizona along the classic Route 66. It’s part kitchy American sightseeing meets local Native lore. The history of the Wigwam Motel is very interesting for many people. There are several of these Wigwam Villages across the United States, however the one in Holbrook tends to receive the most attention due to it’s location on Route 66 near several Native American Reservations, Navajo, Hopi, White Mountain Apache Reservations. The motel is listed on the Nation Register of Historic Places.. Fancy that?
Map

View Larger Map

Leave a comment

Filed under Road Trip Saturdays

Leave a Reply

